Do I have a chance? Fully committed, will do what ever it takes..Please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mdappli

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im a non traditional applicant with a 2.75 cGPA and 2.7 sGPA . The reason why my gpa dropped dramatically during my last year was because I went through a really bad time, with losing 4 members of my family in a car accident and 4 months latter losing my grandmother. It was a difficukt time and I handled it very poorly. So I took a break and studied for the mcat on my own for 3 months and did amazing ( 13B,14P,14V). At this point I don't know what to do? should I apply this year or should I do post bacc/ masters? I have been voulunteering for 2 years, I am a licensed EMT and have great recommendation letters. I want to be a strong candidate and improve my chances.. Do you know anyone that has gotten into MD/DO schools with a low gpa but great mcat score? Is it possible? I am very determined, I will do what ever it takes, and I will re-apply until I get it! This is my ultimate dream and I know for sure that I will be a great doctor. I just need to know which steps to take.

Members don't see this ad.