Do doctors really look down on nurses?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jessica84

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year nursing student, and the floor I am on for clinicals has many resident doctors. They are all very polite and work hard. Now I am wondering what they think of us nursing students coming onto their floor. From the threads that I have read on this forum, many doctors view nurses as inept, lazy, and all are conspiring to gang up on doctors to prove them wrong.

I am hard-working, conscientous, and would hate for anyone to view me that way. I hate to say it, but I know that there are huge differences in how some nursing students take studying seriously while others may go out and party. End result: There can be a huge difference in nurses' abilities and their work ethic (as there are in doctors). Please do not generalize all nurses. Many of us (the ones in my clinical group, for example) work very hard and work with the doctors. We also study so much it cuts into our socializing time. We sacrifice that time to work on what is important now. I want to know all I can to make the best decsions for my patients. However, I still have so much to learn and fear making mistakes all of the time. Just as residents and med. students worry about getting yelled at by their attending doctors, I fear getting yelled at by the grumpy charge nurse! We are supposed to be working as a team, and to what benefit is it to our patients if we work against one another.

uggh...and the stories of sleezy nurses? They've gotta go!

Members don't see this ad.

From the threads that I have read on this forum, many doctors view nurses as inept, lazy, and all are conspiring to gang up on doctors to prove them wrong.