Dental school debt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Predent25

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys:
I'd hate to bother you with a pre-dental issue, but your answers are backed up by experience. A little about me... I earned a PhD while earning money, in the form of grants, and have worked in the field for several years. I was accepted to dental school for this coming fall, and have a few concerns regarding the debt. I have bills ( car, rent, phone, insurances etc...) in addition to the school and fees itself. I will be in approx 340k when it is all said and done. Is this type of debt manageable? If you guys could share your experiences with debt post- dental school I would be "indebted" to you.
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys:
I'd hate to bother you with a pre-dental issue, but your answers are backed up by experience. A little about me... I earned a PhD while earning money, in the form of grants, and have worked in the field for several years. I was accepted to dental school for this coming fall, and have a few concerns regarding the debt. I have bills ( car, rent, phone, insurances etc...) in addition to the school and fees itself. I will be in approx 340k when it is all said and done. Is this type of debt manageable? If you guys could share your experiences with debt post- dental school I would be "indebted" to you.
Thank you!

340k is way too much, IMO. Beyond the opportunity cost of a dental education. The first decade of practicing only expect to make 75-120k maybe. Then you can inch your way up to 150k with few hitting 200k.
Not worth it. Anything more than 250k is beyond the opportunity cost IMO.