Dentists who graduated with $500,000+ in debt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Okabe

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
How are you managing? Do you regret the decision to pursue dentistry with such a heavy price tag? I am asking this because I can never find a crystal clear answer. Some say it’s manageable and worth it, while others are shouting not to go unless you get into a cheap school. Any/all advice would be helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
How are you managing? Do you regret the decision to pursue dentistry with such a heavy price tag? I am asking this because I can never find a crystal clear answer. Some say it’s manageable and worth it, while others are shouting not to go unless you get into a cheap school. Any/all advice would be helpful.
It all depends on how well you can do afterwards. I graduated with just over 500k and did well enough for a while that I thought it was totally worth it. So worth it that I decided to take out another 240k and go back to specialize in endo haha. For others though that are in a super saturated area, or just work as associates making under 180k, they would probably say it isn't worth it.
But again, from my perspective it has totally been worth it. Yeah, it would have been a lot nicer to have less loans, but it's worth the tradeoff for me because I get to do what I like and I really don't know what I would have done if I didn't get accepted into dental school. Even if I had stayed a GP instead of specializing, I still would have been happy with my choice to go to an expensive dental school over nothing at all.

Reactions: 3 users
Also, I see you got into Roseman? If so, that's where I went too! I loved it there. Hopefully it still has the same vibe it did when I was there.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)