Declawing Ban

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sofficat

AU CVM c/o 11
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
AVAR (association of vets for animal rights) has succeeded in banning cat declaws in West Hollywood, California.

Here are my thoughts-

Side A) :thumbdown: Legislation should not tell me how to practice and what I can and cannot do. Soon enought they will ban ear crops and tail docks which means that people will start to do these on their own (it happened twice in south florida this summer).

Side Z) :thumbup: I am against surgery for aesthetic reasons, thus I do not agree with cat declaws, ear crops or tail docks. As a vet, I will probably never perform any of these. I think it is a step in the right direction that the public is now starting to realize that you don't have to declaw every cat you get (when i was growing up it was just what you do). With that being said (and back to side A) I am sure that there are going to be times when a cat declaw should be performed (for ex- like safety reasons for the family). When that occurs, I want to be able to get that cat declawed legally.

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

that I dont really have an opinion on cat declaws, but I show a Rhodesian ridgeback that breaks open the tips of his natural ears all the time. Every ridgeback I have ever seen (and thats a bunch) has had this happen. If this is why some breeds are cropping, then yes, do it! That's why the sporting dogs dock...so they dont break open or even break the tail in the field. The vet I work for does declaws, docks, and doesnt do crops but only because she's not well versed in proper cropping. We also do dewclaws on litters of puppies.