DAT 2nd retake and....how did I do that?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ekoorbnadroj

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey SDN!

I'm a non-traditional potential re-applicant for the upcoming 2021-2022 AADSAS application cycle. I took the DAT for the first time in 2018 while I was in undergrad and I definitely did not do very well. Regardless, I continued to apply and sadly threw a lot of time and money down the drain because I ended up with zero interviews. Three years later, I've been working full time as a dental hygienist, and I'll be finishing up my part time/online MBA program at the end of the summer. I started studying for the DAT in January(!!) because I knew that with my crazy busy schedule, I would have to allocate more time for myself to combat any potential stress.
Here's my dilemma... I just took my DAT this morning, feeling very prepared, and I ended up getting THE SAME AA/TS score?!? Here are my comparisons below:

2018 DAT | 2021 DAT
PAT 21 20
QR 15 17
RC 21 22
BIO 14 18
GC 19 18
OC 19 15
TS 17 17
AA 18 18

So yeah...not really sure what to do here. Clearly my Bio and QR improved a lot, but my OC suffered as a consequence. Would dental schools view these scores as a sign of improvement in terms of those two huge sections? Or would they view it as if nothing has changed? My undergraduate GPA was 3.68, and my current graduate GPA is 3.87. Any advice/guidance as to how to approach the next steps of the application would be amazing. Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey SDN!