Should I retake the DAT??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lev2001

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here are my scores:

PAT: 23
QR: 18
Reading:18
Biology:19
Gen Chem: 21
Orgo: 20
AA:19

GPA 4.00

I am about to graduate next semester, over the years I was VP and Prez for my predental club, got volunteering and clinical experience, am a chem tutor, was a bio and a chem teacher assistant, as well as a co-founder of a club. With this in mind, should I retake my DAT? Due to the intense course load last semester, I only had two weeks to study ( I studied on and off for PAT for 4 months hence my 23 score). I am also wondering about my competitiveness as well. Any further advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Your score is decent, I don’t think I would retake it. I think with the other info you provided that you’d have a good shot, you just have to research the schools that would be best to apply to.

Reactions: 1 user
Thank you for the reply! Yeah, I am a bit worried though about the fact that I am only applying to one school, Dental College of Georgia, and their overall AA is 21 and PAT is 20. I honestly have little choice but to apply to any other school, and additionally, I simply don't want to.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you for the reply! Yeah, I am a bit worried though about the fact that I am only applying to one school, Dental College of Georgia, and their overall AA is 21 and PAT is 20. I honestly have little choice but to apply to any other school, and additionally, I simply don't want to.

I certainly don’t recommend applying to only one school. I don’t remember what their average stats are, but I’d urge you to find more schools to apply to to increase your chance with those DAT scores