Continue taking calculus or drop it?

Dr.Optic

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So currently as the semester wraps up I am not worried about any classes except for calc. I am not the best at math, but I've worked really hard and got an A in pre-calc and my teacher suggested I take calc. Currently I have a B- in calc honors and honestly, I am not sure if I should continue taking it. I am top 10% in my graduating class, but this calc final may keep me there or not. I have been told all placements for the top 10% are final by a friend but I don't know if that's true. I know most medical schools don't require calc, but I took it to be competitive. Should I drop calc next semester or keep grinding through this course? I am not taking it for dual credit, but if I need it for my pre-med courses then at least I have some base knowledge. What are your guy's thoughts? I am not a person who will quit, I usually like to finish what I started, but right now I am having some second thoughts. Any advice would be helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I guess it really depends how much time you have left in the course to raise it to a grade you would be satisfied with in the end. If you feel it is going to become worse then you could consider looking into other options. However, if you maintained a solid B, that wouldn't be a bad scenario. @Dr.Optic

I guess it really depends how much time you have left in the course to raise it to a grade you would be satisfied with in the end. If you feel it is going to become worse then you could consider looking into other options. However, if you maintained a solid B, that wouldn't be a bad scenario. @Dr.Optic
I feel like it might get worse and I can usually get help, but I am not enjoying the course at all. Should I still take it even though I'm not enjoying it? I want to be as competitive as possible for medical school.