Considering returning to school in mid-40s

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jme102

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a 44 year old pharmacist with a Pharm.D. degree. I make great money, and I don't dislike my job (though it's in insurance, so it isn't quite the "help others" idea I had going into medicine.)

Over the past few years, I had some horrible tragedies occur, and it brought up a lot of past childhood trauma that hadn't been dealt with at all. As such, I've been in a DBT program for 3 years, and working on prolonged exposure therapy.

I want to help other people who have suffered unspeakable trauma, and have been contemplating going back to school. I don't know what my chances would be - I had excellent grades (3.6 GPA undergrad, 3.8 pharmacy.) I'm also not sure what the best pathway would be for me since I would like to focus on PTSD/cluster B/dissociation. Any advice on ways to increase my chances of getting into a school, and the best terminal degree to pursue? Anyone else gone back to obtain a psychology degree later in life?

Members don't see this ad.

Based on what you're describing, it sounds like your interests are in psychotherapy, which is 100% achievable with a master's degree in either counseling or social work. A master's degree would be 2-3 years of study plus another 2 for post-degree supervision. You are probably fine grade wise considering most master's programs that I'm familiar with don't really require much in the way of pre-reqs.

Reactions: 1 users
Based on the fact that you've already completed an advanced degree and can likely articulate valid reasons for pursuing this line of work, I think you'd be competitive. A good personal statement/cover letter will help a program to assess fit.