carving/waxing and OMFS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fightingspirit

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Waxing/carving and OMFS

When you were in dental school, did some of you do poorly on waxing/carving/tooth restoration? And did that push you more into OS as opposed to general dentistry?

Also, do you think that poor waxing/carving skills are an ominous sign of lack of fitness to perform oral surgery?

I will be perfectly honest. I am a first year dental student and although all of my classmates are, like me, beginners in waxing, I am perhaps the worst in the entire class and no matter how much feedback I get from my school's wonderful instructors, I fail to wax the anatomy of the tooth. I am getting C's on my practical exams and I see no signs of progress in my work. I will not talk about how depressed and stressed I am over this but suffice it to say that I am seriously questioning my fitness for operative dentistry.

Members don't see this ad.

do you know what they call the guy that graduates at the bottom of the class.... Dr. (there is a big difference between having this attitude as an excuse to not work hard and somebody that busts their but and still is "only managing C's")

nearly everybody questions their fitness to manage the handskills of dentistry at some point in their education

you aren't going to school to become a lab technician. my waxing skills weren't that great either. once you get into clinic, i think you will realize that when you are doing a restoration or making a provisional, the anatomy isn't going to be nearly as detailed as were you waxing a tooth, and it still looks great in the mouth. i wouldn't get too down bucause you don't wax a crown worthy tooth.

Members don't see this ad :)
i got a couple of pms that are along the lines of what you guys are saying here.