career options, locums, residency funding snafu

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PunaHI

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Major questions are bolded.

I have struggled to get into residency for a number of reasons and I need advice about my options. I’m not sure how many details to include. I have not been able to reach anyone at my med school and feel so alone.

I graduated from med school in 2015 in NV but did not get into a residency in NV (at the time there was only 1 DO program and I did not take the USMLE). I’ve never failed a board exam but am at average or just below. I had good LOR but only uploaded in ERAS and nothing in hand. My dean’s letter is the biggest hit to finding success.

I attended a 1 year TRI in Fl from 2016-2017. I was anxious to get back to NV upon completion because I had separated just before receiving the offer for the TRI and divorced during my time away. It was all very hard on my son, who had to remain in NV, and once I finished the TRI my plan was to be back with my son and travel to Utah or Cali to work locums (since NV requires 3 years of residency but UT and CA require only 1). However, the locums company that I had been corresponding with starting in FL then told me that I needed 6 mo of work experience outside of residency to work with them. I have applied for other locums jobs/companies but I either don’t hear back or they also need work experience outside of residency. Does anyone have a recommendation on a locums company that doesn’t require anything more than my internship year?