Capacity Consults

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prominence

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have never done one before. Any suggestions, recommended resources or articles/papers or algorithims on how to approach a capacity consultation request?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

The classic reference is:

Appelbaum PS, Grisso T. Assessing patients' capacities to consent to treatment. N Engl J Med. 1988 Dec 22;319(25):1635-8

The chapter on "Legal aspects of consultation" in the MGH Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry is also very high yield.

There's also a more recent article by Appelbaum in the NEJM:

Appelbaum PS, Assessment of Patients' Competence to Consent to Treatment. NEJM 2007, Nov 1; 357(18):1834-1840.

Members don't see this ad :)
In most settings/jurisdictions, the consulting psychiatrist can provide information and opinion about the capacity to make medical decisions, but, in general, it is up to the physician proposing the medical intervention (i.e. the Primary Team) to make the decision about whether the patient is competent to make the decision at hand.
Some of the attachments below may be helpful.

Some things to remember:

- Disagreement with the physician (alone) is never proof of incapacity to make medical decisions.

- "Competence" is a legal decision, sometimes regarding one single medical decision, sometimes more inclusive, sometimes all-inclusive. Be SURE you know the limits of any legal incompetence decision and never be afraid to ask the hospital/agency risk management lawyer for clarification - on a daily basis if needed. A physician generally does NOT have the expertise to navigate these tricky waters.