Can I be a med student again?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Island Doctor MD

Reaction score
Last year I drop out of a USMD medical school because of personal reasons. Here is my story so you have more background

I graduated with a 4.0 GPA undergraduate but when I was studying for the MCAT at my home, I had many family problems because I have very toxic parents this lead to not having time to study because they always whining about "I didn't have time for them and that I was at there home the least I can do was doing chores and dedicate time to them"
This lead to my bad study habits and bombing the MCAT got a 497. This is totally my fault but I know I could have done better Still was accepted to two medical schools and because of the toxic relationship with my parents, they say they will disinherit me if I didn't go to the school close to home.

The worst decision of my life not attending one of the other medical school far from home, medical school while been near home was the same as the MCAT, they always dropping by telling me to make time for them, I started having a lot of anxiety which led to getting a low grade at the end of the year I almost completed MS1 but had a 2.6gpa mostly C and couple of Bs. But because of my condition the depression and things getting worse at home. I ask for a leave of absence and was denied my school counselor is the worst. Through the year when I barely pass two exams. I went to the counselor for support and to see what can I do to improve. She told me several times to drop out, that med wasn't for me. That really affected me. So I drop out, the school was as toxic as my parents.