Can anyone tell this novice about PASS/Match/Non-match ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentidont

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a novice and I'm not aware of applying to the post-graduate program so well.
I'm a little confused about the terms such as PASS, Match, Non-Match and how they work.
I know there's a web-site that is in charge of recieving the application forms on-line, and I assume that is the PASS .

Now I try to click and continue, so I can figure out the application process, and found Match / Non-match options.:confused:
Could anyone tell me about the difference between Match and non-match ?
Are the application documents all submitted through PASS web-site ?

I have heard something like the interview calls come from the non-Match program earlyer than Match, but I am not sure about this either.:(

I ask for some clear explanation and guidance in application.
Could anyone Please help me ?

:)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
if you are applying to : oral surgery, AEGD, GPR, Pedo or Ortho then you have to loging to the Pass/match website. most of programs in these specialties participate in the match. go to the pass/ match website and there you can register for both.
pass/match site: https://portal.passweb.org/

pass section is where you fill all you info, just follow it step by step, and thats what gets forwarded to the programs, the match section is where the agency matches you with the program. go to the match site they explain the process.
match site: http://www.natmatch.com/dentres/

other specialties don't participate in the match but most of them require you to send your application through pass. some programs require you to send your application directly to them, and don't participate in either match or pass.

hope this helps

thanks, Pixel.. for your helpful information.

Then does it matter when I apply ?