Bad decision to apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bdavis0215

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just sent my application in yesterday and was fairly confident with my application if I am able to get my mcat score up. I have taken the mcat before and my score is 494 but I am working with a tutor and i know i will improve on the sept. 9th mcat. However i did not know how low my aamcas gpa would be. I graduated from clemson with a 3.69 overall gpa but 3 community college classes (1 of which i did not need) made my gpa come out to a 3.5. Is it a bad decision that I applied?

Members don't see this ad.

Where is your state of residence? Which schools did you apply to?
I live in Virginia, i applied to Virginia commonwealth, eastern Virginia, all of the University of South Carolina medical schools, rutgers, university of central florida, university of miami, university of south florida, west virginia, david geffen at UCLA, george washington and possibly florida state university. Like i said i didn't know how low it would drop my gpa to so some of these might be reaches

Members don't see this ad :)
With your current MCAT and GPA you have no chance at those schools. If you increase your MCAT to at least 508 you may receive interviews at your 2 Virginia schools. All the other schools on your list (except GW) give varying degrees of in state preference so there is no point in sending in the secondaries with your stats. You may have a chance at DO schools if your new MCAT is over 500. Post your score here when available in October.

Reactions: 1 user