WAMC-----Osteopathic/MD Schools I should apply to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TroubledKing1

Reaction score
Hi, I was wondering if I could get advice on what osteopathic schools (I would love advice on MD schools outside of Texas also!) I should apply to.

-I am a Texas resident, white male
-I have 1000+ Hours clinical volunteering at a Homeless/underserved clinic
-200+ non clinical volunteering focused on underserved.
-300+ hours shadowing an MD in underserved primary care setting
-My cGPA is more or less 3.79 and my sGPA is 3.6 more or less (I say more or less because I don't know how AACOMAS/AMCAS/TMDSAS will calculate the GPAs).
-I just took my MCAT on April 12th and I want to say I scored between 502-507 (I didn't do well in CARS if I had to guess, I've never been good at CARS and always score below average while my other sections are higher).
-I have 3 letters of recommendation-- two very strong ones from a volunteer coordinator and physician, a likely generic one from a science teacher where I made an A in his class.

-I unfortunately don't have any research nor have I found a DO willing to take me on for shadowing. My future plans include actively hunting for research, finding a DO to shadow, scribing, and doing more community volunteering.

To kind of state the obvious, I've built my app/personal statement around underserved settings and I have an interest in public health, underserved populations, and I would like to do primary care one day.

I would appreciate any advice to improve my chances and please comment any other things you need to know for me!

Members don't see this ad.

Where did you grow up in Texas? Texas likes relatively high GPAs but also prefers applicants with local connections to communities near them (though a few exceptions exist). TCOM should be on your list. Add VCOM which will treat Texas applicants with preference.

Reactions: 1 user