Australian Medical Schools - Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohyou98

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with BS/BA from a university in the US. I have lived in Europe most of my life, and I am originally from Asia. I don't consider any country my home, and everywhere I go, I will be international, so I am trying to experience as many cultures as possible and travel as much as possible. Next on my list is Australia, and I am interested in medical schools there because of 4-year programs. I can't find much information about the programs on the Internet, so I am turning to SDN for advice. My main questions are:
  1. Are there any board exams to match into residencies like in the US?
  2. Can you do research on the side while in medical school?
  3. How do you match into residencies?
  4. Is there a possibility to do a dual degree program at all?
  5. When you do rotations at hospitals, can you do one abroad?
  6. How is the school life balance?
Thank you! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Some of this stuff is probably better answered by online resources. Maybe google something like "process for becoming a doctor in australia". This page from the university of sydney gives a decent overview: How to become a doctor

There are plenty of opportunities for research and dual degrees, usually PhD or MPhil. Most schools do have opportunities for rotations abroad. And the school life balance is generally pretty good, you do have to put in the work but certainly better than the US.