Aspiring Clinical Pathologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clinpathnerd

Reaction score
Hey there!
I am currently a 2nd year veterinary student and have unfortunately encountered a small rough patch in my life (diagnosed with MS, my mom having cancer, transferring vet schools) leading to my grades not being exactly where I want them to be. I would say that I should end up with all B's (hopefully) this semester - but with the added stress from my friends since I am not performing as well as them has me further in a rut. I LOVE pathology. Am I super good at it? NO! But I love learning about it and believe that I want to pursue a clinical pathology residency after my DVM.

Do I have a chance at getting into a residency without perfect grades? I of course do have extracurriculars under my belt and am looking into doing externships this summer. I also would appreciate any advice that will allow me to pursue my future career goals!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I’m SDN’s neighborhood clinical pathologist, lol. I have been boarded four years now. It’s very possible to pursue pathology with mediocre grades. I personally was in the bottom half of my class and had a 3.2 GPA. I had several Cs first year (but an upward trend). Obviously it’s a little easier if you have high grades, but clin path is a VERY small field, and who you know and your demonstrated interest in the field will go a long way. Pathology is outside of the match, and clinical pathology is a small enough field that in general all apps will be reviewed…so it’s not like surgery or other specialties with so many applicants that have to make objective initial cuts based on GPA to thin the app stack. Did I get cut from places because of my GPA? Probably, but I had multiple offers after my rotating internship year.