Are You Even Happy With a Career in Medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonymousername

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an undergraduate student debating a career in medicine but I'm a little hesitant about the lifestyle of a physician. My motivations are the same as most premeds: financial security, prestige, power, and responsibility but I'm concerned about how "happy" actual doctors are with their career choice.

I see med students saying "i have lost interest" or "i hate it" and interns/residents/attendings telling them "It'll get better, just wait it out..." but I honestly don't see where it actually gets better.

In M1 & 2, you study hard and kill yourself to understand the material, you adjust to a new life, competition, study methods, and a huge amount of material that you will be tested on. Step 1 is hell compared to anything you have ever encountered before. M2 and M3 are clinical rotations/clerkships, you are constantly busy. Instead of just learning new material, you need to learn new material and fulfill your responsibilities in a clinical setting (im still unclear about what they are). You are treated with less respect by everyone in the hospital, doctors, nurses, ect. Step 2 is taken, I don't know anything about it but I assume it's no cake walk.

As a resident (i will be 27 if everything goes to plan) you spend 3-7 years making **** money and doing the "grunt work" for people above you in the hierarchy. You have debt to your eyeballs, you work an unimaginable amount of hours, and you have to deal with call. You still get **** from everyone above you.