Applying to Ortho after practicing as a GP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dzmoya

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there!

I graduated in 2022 and have been practicing as a general dentist since graduating. I have not been enjoying it as much as I thought I would and long story short I want to do ortho. I was just curious how applying is as a general dentist? Unfortunately in school I didnt think I was going to specialized so I'm a bit worried about my application. I had a 3.697 GPA and I think my class rank was 23/103. I don't have any research experience and I was part of a few school organizations but I never held positions, I was just a general member in them all.

I'm planning on applying next cycle so hopefully in that time I can make my application stand out a bit more. Some people have told me to get a masters and some say I really need research experience. I don't really want to go to school and get a random masters. There is a dental school close to me so I was thinking about reaching out to someone there and seeing if I could help with any research since I dont work on Fridays (not sure if they will let someone who isnt a student just do research though?). I'm also going to look into shadowing some orthodontists around town so I have hours with that and hopefully can ask them for a letter of rec.

Basically just asking for any help and any tips?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Next cycle opens in May, so hopefully you're submitting your applications by June or July. That leaves a lot to do in only a few months:

1.) Take the GRE (and hopefully crush it to bolster your chances)
2.) Get 3-4 letters of rec (you'll want to ask people by May at the latest to allow them at least a month to write and submit
3.) Get some research experience (I agree that researching on Fridays at the dental school would be a great start)
4.) Write a killer personal statement