General Admissions & OTCAS Any Tips to Strengthen Application? (Applying 18-19 cycle)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MPHGOALSSSS

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first time making a post on here, but I've been constantly checking this forum for months to give me an idea of what to expect when it's time to apply to OT programs (so much anxiety already....) I will be applying this summer during the 18-19 cycle.

I was wondering if some of you can give me tips on how to strengthen my application, in terms of volunteering and extracurricular activities. I will be finished with undergrad in Fall 2018 and have finished majority of pre-reqs with the exception of A&PII, which I'm currently taking.

Here are my stats:
University: State University in California
Major: Health Science
Overall GPA: 3.75
Pre-Req GPA: 3.7-3.8
GRE: haven't taken yet, but planning to in the summer!

Extra-Curric:
- Research Assistant with professor on children with autism (Fall 2017-present)
- Public Health internship with local food bank (Fall 2016)
- Hospital volunteer (Summer 2016)
- Public Health internship with professor (Spring 2016)
- Various leadership positions in multicultural sorority
- Vice president for multicultural greek council

Volunteer: Pediatrics outpatient (100+), Hand therapy (100+), Inpatient (40)
~240 hours total

Work:
- Clerical assistant for a social science department on campus (Fall 2016-present)
- Clerical assistant for another office on campus (Fall 2015-Spring 2016)

I feel discouraged because my stats seem very lackluster compared to everyone else on here. I don't think I have much experience related to OT and I'm having trouble thinking outside the box....

Any advice on what I can start doing would be very very much appreciated! Thank you in advance! :)

Members don't see this ad.