Anatomic Path vs. Clinical Path

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meovi15

Penn V'2024
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently a first year veterinary student with a big interest in pathology. I was looking into possibly going into a pathology residency, but just wanted some advice on going into anatomic pathology vs. clinical pathology. I feel as though I could enjoy doing both, but was wondering if anyone had any insight on job availability/demand in regards to one vs. the other.

Along with this, I was told to try and assist with necropsies at local zoo/wildlife centers during my summers between each year if I decide to go into anatomic pathology, but what sort of experience should I be trying to go for if I leaned more towards clinical pathology? The veterinary school I attend has a summer NIH-BI program that involves veterinary students to partake in research with a mentor over this summer. Would this help in any way in regards to a path residency application? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

There’s a couple anatomic residents and one boarded anatomic around so I’ll let them chime in too, but I’m a clinical pathologist. Up until this year with COVID, job availability for clin path has equaled demand. Residents could get jobs fairly easily but you may not be able to go where you wanted location wise. It isn’t like cardio or derm or whatever where you can say “I want to live HERE” and a job will be there. With that said, diagnostic clin path is starting to go virtual, so we won’t be as limited geographically once we can reliably do pathology from home. This year with COVID there’s almost nothing for jobs and residents are scrambling and taking whatever they can get. Who knows what will happen in the next 1-2 years...and who knows where we’ll be in 4 years when you’d start a residency and 7 years when you’d be done with one. Hopefully this year is an anomaly.