AEGD residency after a few years of practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

USCbiograd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it worth completing a AEGD residency after a few years of practice. The reason that I ask is I will complete 3 years in the Air Force with the option of completing a AEGD residency in the services. But if I want to get out quicker I can turn down the service residency and after my commitment is up complete a residency in the private sector. Do you guys think it is worth completing a residency if I have 3 years experience in general practice?

Members don't see this ad.

Is it worth completing a AEGD residency after a few years of practice. The reason that I ask is I will complete 3 years in the Air Force with the option of completing a AEGD residency in the services. But if I want to get out quicker I can turn down the service residency and after my commitment is up complete a residency in the private sector. Do you guys think it is worth completing a residency if I have 3 years experience in general practice?

The Air Force AEGDs are excellent, especially to advance. Some programs outside the Air FOrce will wonder why you want one after 3 years of practice. ie - to you want to specialize? to you feel weak? can you learn(after 3 years of practice)?

You should call some of the programs and ask them. If you are near NYC and off next weekend the Residency Fair will have AEGDs programs there.

I guess I was wondering if it would be beneficial to do a AEGD after 3 years of practice. Would I have already learned what they would teach me? Would it help secure a better associateship?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I guess I was wondering if it would be beneficial to do a AEGD after 3 years of practice. Would I have already learned what they would teach me? Would it help secure a better associateship?