This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firstgendent

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

First of all, I am grateful for this community so I would like to thank you for taking the time to read and respond to this question.

I am stuck and do not know who to talk to. My family has high expectations of me. I had always done well in school until I reached University. In 2018, I transferred to a big university with 500 people classes. I was overwhelmed and started to doubt my abilities given how much talent was around me. For the first time ever, I received a 2.2 on my transcript. This crumbled my self-esteem even more. I ended up becoming depressed and started to do badly in most of my classes. I did not seek help from anyone because I was too ashamed. What do I even say when I ask for help? I failed a couple of courses. Retook them and passed with a low-grade second time around. Long story short, I graduated with my BA in biochemistry in June 2021 with an extremely low GPA of 2.34.

During my final year, I discovered my interest in dentistry. So I began looking for shadowing opportunities. I came across a job opening for being a Dental Assistant so I took up the offer and started working part-time. I loved seeing the dentists do beautiful restorations and even complicated extractions. I even got to see implant placements. I learned a great deal about the administrative side of the job as well. Overall, I love everything about being a dentist. So I decided to study for the DAT and take the exam. Yet another failure, I did horribly. I scored a 15 AA. This crushed me. I did not share this with family or friends as I am extremely disappointed in myself.