ACGME/AOA merger and how it affects future DO Ob/Gyn residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

imasadpanda

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
It is probably too soon for anyone to tell, but I have a few questions/concerns about the recent merger.

I am a third year medical student getting ready to set up my auditions and was planning on going the DO route for my residency. I am, for the most part, in agreement with the merger. However, with the merger and AOA accreditation ceasing to exist in 5 years, I have concerns about the accreditation of my future osteopathic residency program, wherever it may be.

Do any medical students, residents, physicians, or program directors have any input on this? Are many programs planning on applying for ACGME accreditation in the near future? Or do the majority not currently meet ACGME requirements? Is ACGME altering their requirements for osteopathic residencies since many of them are not located at huge city hospitals?

Any input would be appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

This is such a "in the air" topic.

My thoughts are that it is going to be a rough 5 years for DO programs. They have to invest alot of time and money into bring their "level" up to that of ACGME standards. I think that some programs are really going to be strained. I have been following the forum chats on ACOOG and they are not very happy on there.

I asked a few people why it was so difficult for DO residency trained OBGYNs to apply for and get fellowships, and the answer I got....? The DO programs did not match their MD counterparts. Yes they may make excellent "bread and butter" OBGYNs, but they do not have the volume of a research university. Ultimetly this is going to be a good thing, but I think that it comes at a really bad time for current DO students wanting to do OBGYN at AOA institutions.

Just my thoughts