Academia and faculty positions in Pediatric Dentistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BritDentist

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone

I'm currently a pedo resident who is interested in academia. As a part of my program, there is an option to do an MS which I have started however, I'm hoping to go forward and do a PhD once I have finished.

The program I am have said they are unlikely to have any faculty positions going forward so I was wondering what is the best way to reach out to different hospitals and universities to offer my services? I am open to working anywhere in Canada or the US but I just don't know how to make the right contacts

Finally how easy/difficult is it to get funding for a PhD in pediatric dentistry? I don't know anyone who has done one so it's hard to get appropriate advice

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Everyone

I'm currently a pedo resident who is interested in academia. As a part of my program, there is an option to do an MS which I have started however, I'm hoping to go forward and do a PhD once I have finished.

The program I am have said they are unlikely to have any faculty positions going forward so I was wondering what is the best way to reach out to different hospitals and universities to offer my services? I am open to working anywhere in Canada or the US but I just don't know how to make the right contacts

Finally how easy/difficult is it to get funding for a PhD in pediatric dentistry? I don't know anyone who has done one so it's hard to get appropriate advice
If you don't know anyone that has one, wouldn't that be a red flag in that specific career? You will become a pediatric dentist to not use that to start your own practice and be successful but rather be faculty and work for someone else?

I don't believe you need a PhD unless you really want to run a research lab. Should be good for being in faculty with an MS and DMD.