Your Worst Counter-transference

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iwillheal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon. This is my first post. I'm a psych grad, in my second year, started doing clinical work. I know, you might think it's late, but this is a pretty research oriented program I'm in. Anyhow, I'm glad I found this forum. For a number of reasons, I'm more comfortable talking about some of my experiences, with other grad students who are not necessarily in my program. So this forum seems like the right place.

Anyhow, what is your worst counter-transference? Mine so far has been to abusers whose abuse is not severe enough to warrant legal involvement yet significant enough that make me want to stop it. We have talked about how certain patients can be tough on certain therapists. So I'm aware of my own reaction. We talked about it in my small clinical class too, but I like to go into more details here, again, if this is allowed. Thank you, and have a good day.

Members don't see this ad.

Worst in terms of potentially affecting my ability to help them? Clients who remind me of myself. Attractive clients are a challenge as well. More so than violent offenders and the like.

Thank you for your contributions guys.

Yes, I mean in the sense the countertransference that interferes the most with you performing your job. So yes, if there's a surprisingly beautiful and flirtatious girl in the room and you're a red-blood young heterosexual man like myself, and if you're not deeply and madly in love with a pretty girl who is too good for you and just a dream come true, then I can understand how difficult that session with a pretty girl can be for you. :)