PsyD degree online/transfer options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Claudum

Reaction score
I am currently studying Social Work at the undergraduate level (class of Spring 2023) and hope to pursue my PsyD in the future. I am wondering if there is any easy way to start a counseling or clinical psychology program online, and then transfer to an in-person PsyD program after a year. For most therapy programs, the curriculum is fairly standardized (APA/ CACREP accreditation), especially in the beginning of the curriculum. One school I am very interested in is the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. It has PsyD programs in several locations that my partner and I would be interested in for graduate school (mainly Chicago and Washington DC). It also has online counseling programs (forensic and mental health counseling) with articulation agreements with the PsyD programs (see attached). One issue I find is that you can only transfer 21 credits, which means that it would likely take longer than 5 years for me to finish my entire PsyD. Also, I have to pursue the possibility of transfer credits, which may involve hunting down syllabi from one school and having them evaluated. However, considering the hefty PsyD tution, cost of living in Chicago, and my partner's later graduation date (Spring 2024), I feel like I need to ask. Do you think that this or other "transfer" options is doable and worth looking into? Any other suggestions regarding starting that degree online? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Attachments

• Forensic PsyD Chicago.pdf
    129.6 KB · Views: 93
Transferring programs is very rare for the PhD/PsyD and even if a program were to allow some transfer credits, it would likely be to waive having to take those specific courses again in your new program but not reducing your overall credits needed to graduate (e.g., take electives instead and graduate as regularly scheduled).