Your opinions please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whacked07

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering what are my chances of getting into a school? I graduated with a BA degree in psychology and have low stats on science gpa. I received an F and D's one year because of a death of relative due to cancer and an unexpected death of a close friend, and a breakup from a relationship.

I had taken my OATs twice and improved my stats the 2nd time around, but not enough to be considered competitive, it is pretty low compared to the ones I have seen on this forum, but its in the 300s.

I'm planning to retake the OATs a 3rd time in a few months (which I'm sure most of you haven't taken the OATs this many times. haha).

I've also taken 13 credit hours the in fall 2007 after I received my bachelor's degree in May 2007 since the schools that I talked to recommended me to take additional science courses. Unfortunately, I received 2 D's since I worked during the day 26 hours a week and took these classes in the evening. (I know, this isn't an excuse).

I have 3 years of working with an optometrist.

Do you guys recommend me to do graduate work while waiting or just reapply 3rd time around? How would the committee see this if I apply the 3rd time and not do graduate work?

I feel discouraged at the moment b/c I know I'm not a good standardized test-taker, and with my low gpa.....and since I am planning to apply this 3rd time around.....

Members don't see this ad.

I was wondering what are my chances of getting into a school? I graduated with a BA degree in psychology and have low stats on science gpa. I received an F and D's one year because of a death of relative due to cancer and an unexpected death of a close friend, and a breakup from a relationship.