You only get one chance to make a first impression....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ded2Med010101

This is NOT my real name
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I have been a lurker for longer than I care to admit, now I'm going to be one of those annoying pre-meds who asks yet another version of the "same old same old" question. ;)

First and foremost, like many of us here, I have always wanted to be an MD. Nothing else ever crossed my mind.

I won't get into my "sob story" here as to why I am not a doctor yet (unless anyone cares to ask!), but I do want honest and relevant answers from those in the know. I suppose it's the problem solver in me. I am always seeking solutions, not pitty.

I have completed 1.5 semesters of traditional "pre-med" studies in the form of a Microbiology and Immunology major. I have been actively involved in a wide variety of volunteer work for most of my life, including a position on a national youth advocate team. I would kill to get some time in a research lab, as I already have a few research ideas brewing....a girl can dream, can't she? ;)

Previously, I just assumed that I'd do a BSc and then apply to med school. However, now due to various reasons, I am kind of stuck, so to speak. I need to be able to pay my way through school.

Personally, I never considered an allied health degree (or gasp, working as a nurse) in my pursuit for med school. It never crossed my mind. In fact, I assumed that these applicants had strikes against them and were not *typically* good candidates for med school for various reasons (educational background, trained in other models of care, etc.).