Yet another New Grad Compensation Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aspire2019

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All.
I have a question regarding compensation.
Assuming bread and butter dentistry, in a suburb of a mid-western county with population of about a million (county in which the practice is located has the population of about 500k) - what would be a reasonable expectation of average collection (assuming good collection practices) per doc per month for a practice that is FFS and PPO based.
As a new grad, I am being offered a position that has a minimum guarantee/25% collection whichever is higher.
Trying to makes sense of this structure and is 25% a norm or should I be negotiating on this %?

Members don't see this ad.

Is this a private practice or corp? If it’s a corp contract (sounds like Heartland), then the % is non-negotiable. All of theirs docs have the same 25%. If it’s a private office, I think 30-35% is the norm.

Reactions: 1 user
Is this a private practice or corp? If it’s a corp contract (sounds like Heartland), then the % is non-negotiable. All of theirs docs have the same 25%. If it’s a private office, I think 30-35% is the norm.

thanks for the response and insight. Yes it is a corp. Does the volume make up for the low % once you catch speed? Otherwise how do they compete for docs?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm still a D3 so I have no clue. From talking with Heartland, they argue, like you said, that the volume makes up for the lower %. They also mentioned bonuses and opportunities to buy in also increasing your take-home pay.

I'm still a D3 so I have no clue. From talking with Heartland, they argue, like you said, that the volume makes up for the lower %. They also mentioned bonuses and opportunities to buy in also increasing your take-home pay.