Years of undergrad study...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

w44jmw

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my third year of a Bio degree, but am hoping to get accepted into an optometry program for fall 2009. Does the fact that I haven't completed BSc significantly lower my chances? I will have completed all of the prerequisites for the schools I'm applying to as of April 2009.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in my third year of a Bio degree, but am hoping to get accepted into an optometry program for fall 2009. Does the fact that I haven't completed BSc significantly lower my chances? I will have completed all of the prerequisites for the schools I'm applying to as of April 2009.
good scores and you're fine. i'm only a third year and i just got accepted. in fact, i still have most of my pre reqs to do haha

Depends on the school you're applying to. Some require a bachelor's before applying, but most don't, as long as you have the pre-reqs completed in good standing.

There's a data sheet on US Opt. Ed. schools that have degrees completed as a req. or not, I'm just too lazy to look it up in the moment, :p

Hopefully someone else can help you out on that.

Members don't see this ad :)
IMO, the only negative aspect of doing this (for the schools that allow it, anyway) is that if you are accepted, you might start to slack. Haha, maybe it's just me, but knowing I have acceptances (even though they are provisional) makes it a little bit harder to strive for that A rather than just sliding by...

imo, the only negative aspect of doing this (for the schools that allow it, anyway) is that if you are accepted, you might start to slack. Haha, maybe it's just me, but knowing i have acceptances (even though they are provisional) makes it a little bit harder to strive for that a rather than just sliding by...
ditto