Year off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmme

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second year student at UC Davis. I want to graduate next year after summer school. My original plan was to graduate early and work/gain experience in a pharmacy.

But now I'm doubting that idea because I feel like it's not worth it. Because I'm working hard to graduate early, yet after graduating, I would just be at home, working (hopefully) in a pharmacy (hopefully as a TECH).

My main incentive for graduating early was so that I could save some time, save some money and maybe make some money on the side. But it seems like it is such a waste to graduate early and still go to pharmacy school at the same time as I would have if I graduated in 4 years.

Also, going to pharmacy school directly after graduating is not an option because it would mean I would have to apply this summer, and I'm just not ready. I don't feel like I would get in based on my current GPA, experience (I JUST started pharmacy clerk-ing) and letters (I can't even get one from a professor..)

Would taking the year off and gaining experience even heighten my chances of getting into pharmacy school?

What should I do?
THANK YOU!

Members don't see this ad.

I had no pharmacy experience and I got into three schools. Granted, I had a lab research position at my school coupled with some hospital volunteering, but not a tech job.

What's your GPA like? Also, can you think of a professor that at least remembers you? Though it is ideal to get LORs from people who know you well, many people are resigned to asking a professor to write a letter when that professor doesn't know them very well. That happens all the time and it won't kill your application.

omnione may I ask what your gpa and PCAT scores were as I'm thinking of applying to Creighton.

Members don't see this ad :)