Take a year off or not?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

timwonderer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! So here's my situation.

I am a third year undergrad student and I am contemplating on whether I should apply to pharm school this cycle (eg. this fall). But there are something that is holding me back or telling me that I should take a year off.

1. My grade is pretty unimpressive. As of right now (Spring Quarter 2013, not counting this quarter's grade yet), my cumulative GPA stands at 2.79. If all goes well, by the time when the application is due (in November), the highest GPA that I can obtain is 3.0. Here is a breakdown of my science/math grades and Pre-req:

Math 20A, B, C, D = A-/B/C/C-
CHEM 6A, B, C = A/C/B
CHEM 7L (Gen Chem Lab) = B
CHEM 140 A,B,C = C/B+/C-
PHYS 2A,B = C-/C/
ECON 1: A

There are still some clases I need to take, but as you can see, my science/math/other pre-reqs are pretty bad. Also, if I am graduating next year (as in Spring 2014), I will have a few pre-req such as human physiology and microbiology not completed.

2. I have no pharmacy experience. I do have a pharmacy technician license, but I cannot find any place that would hire me (as far as I know in San Diego) due to the fact that I can't work full-time. Once, a pharmacy did offer me an opportunity but it would require me to work overnight shift, which is not possible for me since I still have classes during the day.

3. I can't furnish a kick-ass LORs in time for this cycle. I know some people said I absolutely need a pharmacist to write me a letter of req or at least a science prof, but unfortunately I don't have any of those. The closest thing I can think of is I can ask my current employer (I work in a lab part-time as a lab assistant), my public speaking instructor, and my chemistry lab TA to write me one. If a Greek professor's LOR would carry weight, I will do that too.