Year off versus Applying This Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nyc5614

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm in a quandary here.

I finished all of my prerequisites last semester, but did not have time to study for the MCAT during the school year due to the birth of my son last summer. I started studying in June and am realizing that I would greatly benefit from another month of studying - my scores are going up fairly dramatically, and it's likely because I changed my method of studying. I'm scheduled to take it on Tuesday, but if I take it then, I'm guessing that my score will be around 28 versus another month, when I could reasonably see the range being 31-34 (I'm basing this on a blend of greatly slowing the rate of progress that I have recently had for AAMC exams and material that I still need to cover). I am enrolled to take biochem and A&P this year (in addition to a couple of other classes), so I would expect that these subjects would help my MCAT scores, although there is also the issue of possible decreasing proficiency in physics, organic, and chemistry as time since the class was last taken increases.

I have my name on one research publication currently, but will likely have my name on many more by next year. Also, I have been planning on volunteering at a clinic that serves the non-English speaking Hispanic community (I began to learn Spanish two years ago for this reason), so this would round out the clinical portion of my resume.