Would your PD know if you apply to a different specialty?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

threecoins

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question, I am a resident in a categorical program and I am considering changing specialties ( for very good reasons) , the question I have is if I apply to ERAS this year and manage to intervew without anybody knowing , will the PD still know that I am applying this year through ERAS?
It might not be a good idea to just let the PD know because if you dont natch then you are screwed? any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

I have a question, I am a resident in a categorical program and I am considering changing specialties ( for very good reasons) , the question I have is if I apply to ERAS this year and manage to intervew without anybody knowing , will the PD still know that I am applying this year through ERAS?
It might not be a good idea to just let the PD know because if you dont natch then you are screwed? any thoughts?

I do not know how you will keep him from figuring out your plans. The problem is when you tell him to keep him from making your life a living h*ll. Every advanced position I see advertised requires a letter from your current program director.

As desoto notes, most positions require a letter from your current PD stating that you are in good standing, etc. Wouldn't know any way around that and if you didn't tell them until you matched (if you were able to get that far in the match without a letter), IMHO they would be duly upset.

You should let your PD know about your intentions early in the process. That'll give him/her time to start looking for a replacement.

If you have to go through the Match, then you're in kind of a sticky situation. Because around December-January is when residents sign their contracts for the following year.

-AT.