Switching specialities : when to tell PD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted1078679

I’m an intern. SDN has been very helpful as I know no one who has done this and my program is not a “share your feelings and concerns” type of program. Kind of toxic, including my Co interns- but that’s not even why I’m trying to transfer.

I have an interview in 2 weeks with a program in that new speciality I want —- interested in me! Via a connection.

I have not told my PD yet, they are new to being PD. The faculty and DIO has said many times to us from orientation to now - do NOT try to transfer -like a fear tactic, & told us make sure we have somewhere secure before we do. They are going to be very angry and I will feel this- it’s only a 15 total resident community FQHC program.

My contract said 30 day notice.

The PD for the program I want to transfer to- told me that they want to speak to my current PD (I don’t know when)

-TLDR: My question is , SHOULD I tell my PD about my wanting to switch BEFORE or AFTER the interview ?

Members don't see this ad.

The risk of waiting is that the new PD may call up your current PD before you have a chance to talk to them about it. It would be worse for your PD to find out that way than from you.

Is this for a transfer this year or is this for a spot in the match for starting next year?

Reactions: 1 user
The risk of waiting is that the new PD may call up your current PD before you have a chance to talk to them about it. It would be worse for your PD to find out that way than from you.

Is this for a transfer this year or is this for a spot in the match for starting next year?

I don’t see why they would call my current PD without even speaking to me via interview or phone as yet. Only email
It’s outside of the match- so they said we would discuss if it’s better for me to transfer as a PGY- 1 mid way or as a PGY-2