Would I be able to get in ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rady

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I am a US resident but a FMG and am very interested in Rad Onc. I would like to know what are the chances for a FMG to be able to get in to this field ? Do you all know of any FMGs who have got in in the past 2-3 years ?
Thank-you !

Members don't see this ad.

You definitely face an uphill battle. I do not personally know of any FMGs that have gotten a spot in radonc in the past couple of years. I know that last year there was at least one DO who got in however.

But if radonc is really your dream, I would at least give it a shot. But you just have to know what you are signing up for and that it will be extraordinarily difficult to get in..but I don't think impossible.

"If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you
But make allowance for their doubting too,
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,
Or being hated, don't give way to hating,
And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise:
If you can dream--and not make dreams your master,
If you can think--and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;
If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build 'em up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it all on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breath a word about your loss;
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: "Hold on!"