Would I be able to apply MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedhopeful56

Reaction score
Hello,

I posted awhile back about having a low GPA but I was able to get Fs from several years ago off of my GPA so now I feel a bit more confident. It went form a 3.1 to a 3.45. I'm taking the MCAT in the fall. I'm a nontrad. Flunked out of community college 8 years ago and then joined the military. I worked in healthcare during my service. I'm also a lesbian and married to a woman so I'm not sure what schools are more lgbtq friendly.
  1. cGPA: 3.45 (upward trend 2.5-3.45) (3.7 for the last 60 credits) sGPA: 3.40
  2. MCAT: I will be taking the MCAT in the fall
  3. New York, but I also have a place in riverside, CA so I could also move back for awhile and switch residencies. I was thinking about doing that if I decided to apply to UCR
  4. White
  5. Hofstra undergrad
  6. 13,000-14,000 hours as a medic in the military
  7. 500 hours of Research
  8. 0 shadowing hours
  9. Non-clinical volunteering: 500 hours teaching voice lessons and music to children ages 3-10
  10. 5 years of active duty military service
  11. Anything else not listed you think might be important: I'm a lesbian and married to a woman so I would prefer more LGBTQ+ friendly schools.

Would it be possible for me to apply MD or should I only stick to DO?
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I was able to get Fs from several years ago off of my GPA so now I feel a bit more confident.
What do you mean by this? I'm just asking because the AAMC is pretty strict about including all grades from transcripts. For example, if you got a C in biochem and then retook the class for an A, the AAMC would factor in both grades instead of just the re-take grade.