Worried about not getting in

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ethanol2025

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm finishing my undergraduate degree this year and applying to medical school this Spring. I did my degree in 3 years instead of 4 hence why I'm applying in the coming Spring, so I'd have all of my sciences done before the MCAT. I will be applying to MD and DO schools. I am very worried about not getting in next cycle.
My GPA is a 3.45 and my sGPA is a 3.5. I have clinical research, thousands of hours of clinical work as a COVID vaccinator, vaccine site lead, EMT, and medical assistant, and plenty of shadowing. My GPA is a lot lower than a lot of my premed peers who have 3.7's to 4.0's. If I do not get in this coming cycle I will be applying again, but I also need to consider when is the right time to do something else like PA or scrub tech which would take a few years of school (I wouldn't be giving up on being a physician, just doing that for the time being), and when I should be thinking about the Caribbean if at all. Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

You should probably stop worrying until at least December of your application cycle. Plenty of people get in with a 3.5 sGPA. Take a deep breath and pick up a hobby; nobody can control the future and it doesn't help you at all to stress at this point.

Reactions: 5 users
and when I should be thinking about the Caribbean if at all.
This is a poor last resort.
It is putting $ in the pockets of people who do not have your interests at heart; people who will harm you if it does them good.

• Love
Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)