working as a surgical tech for clinical experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jasmynediva

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. has anyone here ever worked as a surgical tech aka scrub at a hospital while doing their postbaccs? If so how was the experience and will it help when applying to medical school or do adcoms look down on this type of work? I aspire to be a surgeon and im curious to know whats its like to be in the OR. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi.

I'm a Certifed Surgical Technologist, CST. I love my job. At present I work as a traveller and move to different hospitals depending on need. I am a non-trad so I went to scrub school to assure myself healthcare was for me. I am presently working simultaneously on a d-i-y pre-med post-baccalaureate as well as a nursing degree.

Working in the OR has been a wonderful experience. I've gotten to see and do things most pre-meds never do. As a tech you'll see more of the inside of the human body than 95% of people on the planet.

The clincial experience has been invaluable. I've scrubbed transplants, conjoined twins separations and everything in between. I've even scrubbed during surgery on babies that where still in utero.

I've been able to use my training to volunteer in medical teams abroad. Because of my travels I have worked with many world famous surgeons and received some great LOR's.

A Surgical Tech program would take you at least one year. It would also take at least another 6-months to a year of paid training to become "comfortable" with your skills. Not sure if you are willing to invest the time, but for my situation, it was perfect.