workin on MPH

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmjannie

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, here is my story. I finished undergrad last year with a 3.4 gpa overall, and 3.25 sci gpa. Bleh. I did apply, but didnt get in. So, now I am working on a MPH in Epi, and doing well (took 6 classes last semester, 3.88gpa). And my mcat was a 30...dont recall what the writing sample was. Just wondering if any of you have decided on the MPH path, or if anyone here had a similar experience to mine, then ended up getting into med school on their next try. I am going to apply for the fall 2005 class. Basically, Im just trying to gague what my chances are. (And my best friend just got rejected from her state school last week, so I am kind of freaking out). Thanks all.

Cheers.

PS - Im new to SDN, so I wasnt sure whether to post this here or in the MPH forum.

Members don't see this ad.

well, i did an mph, and i have to say the experiences you have there will help you get in...take advantage of research opps (esp. since you're doing epi....) and internships.....use this time to volunteer, and get your gpa up.......you've still got time to pad the app., so use it!!!! and with your epi classes that science gpa will go up....because a lot of epi classes are bio.....so hang in there...you'll be fine...

I would definately agree...you seem to be well on the right path, and doing well to boot(which ALWAYS helps).

Please feel free to post in this forum, as it is always nice to have new faces, as well as the old ones...

Best of luck to you...and post away!!!

Members don't see this ad :)
are MPH programs always 2 years?? curious... i always considered getting one in epi, i want to do ao combined if i get into med school, but if i dont i may just get that first....