Work/Life Balance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justanotherapp

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a resident, love cardiology. Think its fascinating and rewarding career.
I go to a top IM program and have decent research/CV, but I am questioning whether this is worth it or not.

I keep working thinking the end is year and it will be better as a fellow/attending. I do not want to work 60+ hours as an attending or be on call for most weekends. I am beginning to resent my choice in IM (versus radiology/derm) but I am not interested in any other subspeciality but cardiology. Other options I am- healthcare consulting, preventive cardiology fellowship, integrative medicine.

Should I reconsider? Or is there a viable option in the future. Not sure if anyone else has been in this position.

Members don't see this ad.

I work about 60-70 hours a week, but only 1 in 8 weekends and I get ten weeks of vacation a year.
One of my general cardiologist friends works about 50 hours a week and rarely takes weekend call. She doesn't make fantastic money but has a very nice home life.
My practice is hiring somebody who will only be working about 30 hours a week, only seeing patients in clinic and reading studies. This is an unusual scenario but obviously it exists.
So there are a variety of career trajectories after training, even in cardiology. The tendancy, however, is that in most cards jobs you're going to be working 60+ hours a week.

I work about 60-70 hours a week, but only 1 in 8 weekends and I get ten weeks of vacation a year.
One of my general cardiologist friends works about 50 hours a week and rarely takes weekend call. She doesn't make fantastic money but has a very nice home life.
My practice is hiring somebody who will only be working about 30 hours a week, only seeing patients in clinic and reading studies. This is an unusual scenario but obviously it exists.