Work hour violations- forced to lie?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firewand

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a junior resident, and while on our Trauma rotation, I've been very dismayed by the pressure the senior residents have had thrust on them to lie on their work hour sheets. Most are going significantly over 80-hours, staying longer than 30-33 hours post-call and unfortunately we have a chairman that implicitly expects this of them. Additionally our program director is not capable of really keeping things in check. It is certainly compromises patient care. Is there any recourse to be taken? Any ideas from any of the other residents?

Thanks...

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately, there are some bad programs out there that do this. Your recourse is to notify the RRC but you can cut your own throat by doing this. When the 80-hour (30-hour continuous) regulations went into place, some programs did nothing and expected residents to do the same amount of work in less hours. When this became practically impossible, the alternatives were to hire mid levels (expensive and many programs would not do this) or lie about hours (told that this was the only way to keep the program).

Lying about hours is out there and there isn't much you can do (outside) that helps the situation without potentially destroying your program. My advice is to try to find a way among yourselves to help your situation that involves being able to shift folks around to get the work covered without violating work hour restrictions. This is definitely easier said than done, however, if everyone honestly pitches in and works together, you at least have a shot.

There is no excuse for the flagrant disregard of the rules. Furthermore, the institution at large shares part of the blame for not monitoring the department of surgery.