Women in Ortho?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OrthoDreamer

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my 2nd year of medical school and am seriously considering orthopedics as a career. I am getting very mixed opinions from people about being a woman in ortho who wants to have a family because of the amount of time ortho demands. I have even heard that while a woman is pregnant she is not allowed to do surgery. However, very little of my info is coming from orthopedic surgeons, and none from female ortho surgeons. Does any one out there have some advice and/or information about this. Any woman out there that did/are doing ortho and have a family? Would you do it again?

Thanks for all your help!

Members don't see this ad.

. I have even heard that while a woman is pregnant she is not allowed to do surgery. However, very little of my info is coming from orthopedic surgeons, and none from female ortho surgeons. Does any one out there have some advice and/or information about this. Any woman out there that did/are doing ortho and have a family? Would you do it again?

This is probably becausethey use so much fluoro in the or. A lot of female orthos with kids tend to drop out because it is so time demanding. But there are alot of women i met that are married without kids that love it.

I know a female orthopod who adopted a child and her husband is a stay at home dad.

-J

Members don't see this ad :)
OrthoDreamer said: