Wishful thinking to work in a PT environment w/o PT credentials yet?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NATO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Have you heard of or actually applied to work in PT clinics/envorinments without having a PT or PTA degree? I've decided to applying to PT schools for 2012 entry.

I'm really sick of being a ''Corporate slave'' so to speak. My work day is over for today and I can't stand wasting away in front of a computer screen crunching out numbers anymore.

In the grand scheme of time, 2 years is nothing; however, I just really can't stand the thought of working for Corporate America for that much longer. I want to help people directly as soon as possible. I've seen want ads for PT clinics offering paid opportunites to PT students. I'm a pre-PT student. Does that count? :oops:

Would it be a waste of time and energy to send my resume to PT out patient clinics? I did the math and I would only need to make 30K/year (pre-tax) to pay my necessary bills, feed myself, and emergencies. Yeah, I guess it's wishful thinking. I just want to do something outside of Corporate America right now. Any suggestions? I'm am single and my only debt is my mortgage. I have a undergraduate degree in business and a graduate degree in a technical field.

Members don't see this ad.