Wise Decision?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

99Bullitt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from the University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign in May with a degree in bioengineering. I was NOT premed but now I really want to try to go to med school. Seems like an afterthought but I have put a lot of time and consideration into this choice. Here are my credentials:

cGPA: 3.25 (fresh:3.07, soph:2.92, junior:3.67, senior:3.4)
sGPA: 3.3
No clinical experience (going to be volunteering at local hospital this fall/spring as well as shadowing several doctors)
Volunteer Experience: Church sunday schools, daycare, fundraisers.
Did research with a professor but was not medicine-related
Senior design project, worked with a developmental service center and people with severe disabilites
Taking the MCAT in January but practice tests have been 34-35
Leadership positions in Fraternity and Intramural Basketball Team
Founded and ran my own landscaping business
Worked at a restaurant for 3 years (1 as a manager)
Member in engineering society

I really want to go to osteopathic school. I think my chances are better but I have also done research and met a few DOs who have convinced me it is the right path. I am taking classes this fall and spring at a community college to replace a few grades and to take some other classes so hopefully my GPA is about a 3.5 when I apply.

I have turned down a job offer to pursue medical school. How are my chances looking? What can I do to make my application more attractive??

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Can't say without an actual MCAT score. Some schools require a DO letter, so try and shadow one.