Will typed medication orders ever be standard in hospitals?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newslang

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a prepharmacy student and work in a hospital as a technician. One thing that really scares me about being a hospital pharmacist is having to interpret doctors' handwriting quickly and accurately. It's one thing to know all the information you have to know to be a pharmacist, and another to constantly be ascertaining drug names when only about 50% of the letters are legible, from a fax no less.

So i ask: how common are typed medication orders in hospital pharmacies today, and is there a trend toward their greater use?

Members don't see this ad.

we have some typed preset order sets (DVT Prophylaxis)

sometimes admit orders will be typed.

but overall I don't think handwriting is as bad in the inpatient setting as it is outpatient - and I'm not sure why. But only once in a blue moon does something come up that is unreadable.

Also, we use Pyxis Connect and I swear it is easier to read the scans on the screen than something that is faxed over. On my rotation last summer they did faxes and I found them incredibly difficult to read in comparison.

CPOE worries me because it's just so easy to pick the wrong medication on a drop down menu...

There is a movement towards e-prescribing. Many physicians are loathed to adopt it though. However, Medicare will force the issue in a couple of years.
At UIC hospital, all in-patient drug orders are e-prescribed. The prescriber types it in, and then it is colored coded to determined urgency. The pharmacist clicks on the order and verifies it. The computer system will then allow it to be filled.

Members don't see this ad :)