Will I get into a FM residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zoogie Ba Zaga

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Sorry if I am asking a question that has been asked before. I am really nervous about my situation.

Here is a snapshot of my medical school career:

Step 1: 197/81, first attempt
Step 2 CK: 217/93, THIRD attempt :eek:
Step 2 CS: Pass, first attempt

Had to take a year off during my M2 year because I became depressed (now well controlled on a SSRI)

After finally passing the USMLE in September of 2011, I became an MD from a school in the Midwest. Now I am studying in a Masters program in Bioethics (which is really interesting if anyone is curious).

Also, I was a board member for FMIG and APAMSA. And I was a member of my classes Lottery Committee (help sort out third year clerkships, etc). And I participated in a program where I shadowed a family doc for 1 month during the summer after my M1 year.

Applied to 44 programs (All family of course :)). 4 rejections :eek:. No interview invitations yet :eek:.

I know I may have to scramble (or I guess go through the SOAP process) given my poor test grades. I am really starting to panic, though, that I may not get a job as a FM resident next year.

What do you all think my chances are? Any other advice?

Thank you for reading and for help,
Zoogie

Members don't see this ad.

you probably will be a good doctor when all is said and done but the deck is certainly stacked against you right now with that 3rd attempt board score. i don't remember seeing anyone interview at our program who had a 3rd attempt at boards...

i think you are doing everything correct:
1) apply broadly. take any interview you can get. ace your interview - know about the program, act interested, ask questions.
2) be prepared for the SOAP (formerly scramble) match - have all your info ready and free up your schedule to get everything done early