Why should I consolidate my student loans?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MC Wiggles

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to all this financial stuff, so pardon my ignorance. But I'm wondering what advantages there are for consolidating student loans? I am entering dental school this fall, and currently I have student loans from two undergraduate universities. It's a pain to have to submit deferrment forms for two schools, and frankly I'm starting to even forget how much loan debt I have at each school. Could loan consolidation solve this problem and just be a more efficient manner to deal with loans overall?

Members don't see this ad.

MC Wiggles said:
I'm new to all this financial stuff, so pardon my ignorance. But I'm wondering what advantages there are for consolidating student loans? I am entering dental school this fall, and currently I have student loans from two undergraduate universities. It's a pain to have to submit deferrment forms for two schools, and frankly I'm starting to even forget how much loan debt I have at each school. Could loan consolidation solve this problem and just be a more efficient manner to deal with loans overall?

Loan consolidation does make loan management easier because you only have on loan to repay. If you do it before July 1, you also get to lock in historically low interest rates. Consolidation is also good because it stretches out your repayment plan. Honestly, I don't see any reason not to consolidate.

Lock-in rates? I thought that was done as of this past July.

Loan consolidation is great as you have one loan payment and it used to be that you could lock in all your rates at a fixed rate (usually for federal aid they are variable while in school and private loans are almost always variable (at least for undergrads as far as I could find).